A Mother’s Day Reflection

Mother’s Day is just around the corner; tomorrow actually and by the time I post this it may be Mother’s Day.  For the past 3 years, Mother’s Day has been somewhat of a bittersweet experience for me.  It was 3 years ago that my mother died, and consequently, everyday is hard, but Mother’s Day is especially difficult for me.  My wife goes and celebrates the day with her mother and grandmothers.  I, on the other hand, have neither mother nor grandmother to celebrate it with.  My Mother’s Day usually consists of going to my mother’s grave site and putting flowers out for her.

I was driving home from work the other evening, listening to my usual talk radio shows; when the host of one show was doing a show with the topic of “Good advice that your mother told you that still resonate today”.  There were a lot of people that called in telling their stories of when their mothers had given them great advice that they could carry with them through this journey of life.  As I listened, I found myself getting a little upset because as hard as I tried to remember, my mother never gave me any advice about life that I can recall.  Then I decided to pray that God would reveal to me, a time that my mother had given me advice, some cache phrase, or anything that I could draw upon today.  Suddenly, my mind was flooded with all the times I played a musical concert, acted on stage, sang in a chorus, graduated from high school and basic training, and so many other times in my life when my mother was there; supporting and encouraging me every step of the way.  It dawned on me that my mother gave me the greatest advice of all!  She told me about the truth of the gospel in the way she lived; always accepting others and giving without expecting anything in return.  Her life spoke volumes on Jesus’ love for me, the desperate and complete sinner that I was.  Her touch reminded me that God is never too far away, and often times he is closer than we can imagine.  Her voice reassured me that God approved of me as his adopted son in Christ.  Her smile convinced me that God enjoys watching me find enjoyment in him through his creation.  Although I cannot find a specific phrase that my mother always said so that she could engrain some wisdom in me; I have rediscovered how she lived her life in relation to me, filling me with the love of God and the hope of Christ!

About fatsmalloy

Laid back, at least that is how my wife would describe me. I do tend to look on the lighter side of life's toughest situations. Music, counseling, and reformed theology are my biggest passions. I have a wife and 4 beautiful children. I have been attending school for what seems like forever, but hopefully, will be done soon. I long to serve Jesus, the one who loved me and died for me. I long to serve the Spirit, the one who worked in me so that I could receive spiritual sight. And I long to serve the Father, the one who knew me, loved me, and called me into a communing relationship with himself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Mother’s Day Reflection

  1. Michele Sheffield Barber says:

    Andrew…..well said, Brother. Anne would be so proud and honored to be remembered in such a sweet way. Isn’t Jesus amazing??!! One day, we will see our precious Mothers and our beloved Saviour. Perhaps sooner than anyone realizes….With all of my heart, I believe His return is nearer than we could possibly imagine. I love you little brother :)……

  2. Jimmy says:

    Actions always speak louder than words.. 🙂

Leave a comment